Digital Tutors Video Tutorials

To gain some more knowledge of new software and to extend my knowledge of software I already know, I decided to subscribe to Digital tutors for a month. This is a monthly subscription website that posts video tutorials created by industry professionals, posting tutorials on 3DS Max, photoshop, UE4, blender, Zbrush, After Affects and many, many more.

A good feature this website has is a notes tab, which lets you take notes at specific points in a video, so you can go back at a later date and see what you wrote about the video, this helps towards the learning of the software because if you forget something, you can go back and see what you wrote.

When looking at job roles and job vacancies for 3D asset/ environment artists., many vacancies require a certain amount in skill using certain pieces of software or require knowledge of elements in some software. I think digital tutors is a great way to pick up some more knowledge of these pieces of software wanted by employers, even if it’s just getting the basics of the software, you will be able to apply for the job knowing that you have some skills in the software.

Within the month trial I subscribed to, I wanted to gain more knowledge with Unreal Engine 4, so I watched some of the basic videos, which covered Material Creation in UE4, learning the UI and various settings, variations of texture maps, using blend modes, and using lighting in UE4. Watching these has helped me gain an understanding of more technical areas for UE4 and I can use these to further my own project and any future projects I may do. I will definitely use ‘digitaltutors’ again when I’m in need of any professional help regarding software.

~ by reeceharry on April 10, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
vegetrouble.wordpress.com/

( Project Example)

subjectanomaly.wordpress.com/

The Final Major Project of Matt Lane

Reece Harrison

Year 3 Game Design HSAD Student

Sanctuary Games

David Smith - Games Designer, Gamer and Full Time Geek

Hms Hunter

From the Ashes

shevysupreme

A fine WordPress.com site

AS3 Game Tutorials

Complete Flash game tutorials in ActionScript 3

Kevin Holbrook's Blog

Student at Hull College - BA (Honours) Degree

dalehaughey

I am currently studying games design at the Hull school of art and design and this is the work i have been doing.

