Self-Initiated Project: Room Blockout and research

Here is a simple blockout of the rooms that I want to create, showing various places for the furniture. Although the placement isn’t final, it’s a general idea of where and how I want to place the furniture. The kitchen will be raised from the rest of the downstairs, making it a bit different, allowing the living furniture to fit nicely against the raised area. I’m quite happy with how it looks, I looked into blueprints of houses in a interior design magazine I had purchased and got a general idea of how a downstairs is populated and used, this allowed me to sketch out my own blueprint and be able to use the area to the best I can.

I have placed the window areas, just to show where they are. The player won’t be able to see through them as they will have a shutter or blinds over them.

Sketch Blueprint

Sketch Blueprint

Birds-Eye view Key

Birds-Eye view Key

View from kitchen.

View from kitchen.

View from under stairs.

View from under stairs.

While perusing a LivingEtc magazine I had bought to gain some research and inspiration, there are various articles of interior designers and their work, but it also showed the blueprint of the buildings. Showing what rooms and where they are. Doing this I noticed that all these houses living and kitchen areas where right next to each other, either open planned or a wall seperating the two. Aswell as this the dining room was part of these rooms so I have decided to create a dining area too. Below are the blueprints I gained research from.

DSC_0182 DSC_0183 DSC_0184

 

~ by reeceharry on February 27, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
vegetrouble.wordpress.com/

( Project Example)

subjectanomaly.wordpress.com/

The Final Major Project of Matt Lane

Reece Harrison

Year 3 Game Design HSAD Student

Sanctuary Games

David Smith - Games Designer, Gamer and Full Time Geek

Hms Hunter

From the Ashes

shevysupreme

A fine WordPress.com site

AS3 Game Tutorials

Complete Flash game tutorials in ActionScript 3

Kevin Holbrook's Blog

Student at Hull College - BA (Honours) Degree

dalehaughey

I am currently studying games design at the Hull school of art and design and this is the work i have been doing.

