Self Initiated Project: Modern Interiors Research

As I am building a 3D modern environment for my self initiated project, I decided to begin researching into how living rooms and kitchens look and where and how furniture if placed, also looking at the aesthetics of it; this is so I can get an idea of what type of furniture I could place and how it could look. Various places to look for this type of research is online furniture sites, property websites, furniture shops, kitchen warhouses, interior design magazines/leaflets.

Here are some various images found online from interior websites, the images I have chosen is a general idea of how I would like the look of the 3D rooms to be like. Each room looking very clean and shiny, with many reflective surfaces.

Kitchen 1 Kitchen2 Kitchen3 LivingRoom1 LivingRoom2

LivingRoom3

Looking through these images, there is a certain theme going through each one of these pictures that I have noticed, mainly all the furniture and features are square of rectangular shaped. This is something I am going to implement into my 3D space, make the furniture rectangular shaped so I can fit many pieces together or next to each other without it looking strange. Although there is curved pieces of furniture in the images and I will also create these type too, it is predominantly square shaped. Looking through the images, I am going to make a list of furniture that is showing, this will give me an idea of the type of pieces of furniture I will be able to build to populate my 3D environment.

Kitchen:

  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Hob
  • Kitchen Units
  • Cupboards
  • Plantpot
  • Oils and Herbs
  • Kettle
  • Breakfast Bar
  • Tall Chairs
  • Mugs/Glasses and Plates
  • Kitchen Towels
  • Oven Vent
  • Fruit Bowl
  • Cutlery/Knives
  • Sink
  • Fridge/Freezer

Living Room:

  • Sofa
  • TV
  • Stereo
  • Speakers
  • Magazines
  • Remote
  • Rug
  • Side Table
  • Coffee Table
  • Plantpot
  • Ornaments
  • Lamps
  • Cushions
  • Bookcase/Books
  • Wall Storage Units
  • Tall Paintings/Canvas Art
  • Blinds

The colour used within modern rooms is either dark colours with odd light furniture/ objects to brighten up the dark pieces of furniture, or the rooms are predominently brights with odd pieces of colour to brighten the room up. Aswell as this, certain walls are used as features, so the feature wall with have a vibrant/interesting wallpaper or colour or the wall may be left as the bricks to give the room more character. Within the living room, I noticed that most of the furniture is pointed towards a certain area, mainly being the television.

Looking through all of these images from various sources, I think I have gained a base idea for where I want to go with my room creation. Figuring out what type of furniture, colour and the placing of the objects. Next I will get some sketches done for some designs of the rooms.

Below are some various inspirational research images from an interior design magazine I had purchased. Although the flash has disturbed the image a little and I had no scanner at the time, they still show the furniture and the layout enough to appreciate.

DSC_0185 DSC_0186 DSC_0188 DSC_0189 DSC_0190 DSC_0191 DSC_0192 DSC_0193 DSC_0194 DSC_0195 DSC_0196

These images give me all sorts of ideas for layout and different types of furniture that I can reference from and alter to my own needs.

 

~ by reeceharry on February 27, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
vegetrouble.wordpress.com/

( Project Example)

subjectanomaly.wordpress.com/

The Final Major Project of Matt Lane

Reece Harrison

Year 3 Game Design HSAD Student

Sanctuary Games

David Smith - Games Designer, Gamer and Full Time Geek

Hms Hunter

From the Ashes

shevysupreme

A fine WordPress.com site

AS3 Game Tutorials

Complete Flash game tutorials in ActionScript 3

Kevin Holbrook's Blog

Student at Hull College - BA (Honours) Degree

dalehaughey

I am currently studying games design at the Hull school of art and design and this is the work i have been doing.

