Sketchamaze!: Modular Level Designs and Other Designs

For my Aspects of play game I am making, I have decided to create modular parts that can be put in various places to create diverse and different styles of mazes. I didn’t want all of the mazes to look boring and bland with just plain walls so I drew up some larger walls with various designs on them that can be placed randomly throughout a level, these could serve a special purpose in the future if I was to implement more mechanics to the game.

At the moment I have only 5 designed walls that can be used, these are polka-dot, tribal, horizontal and vertical stripes and cross design walls. Each level I create will be thought of uniquely to co-exist with the timed events and the countdown timer, for example, if there is a point that needs to be collected and then the player has to get to the door before the time runs out, then I will strategically place the point in a place that is so many seconds away from the door to create a big challenge for the player.

Below is the original sketches of the walls and underneath that is a draft piece of a typical maze that could be seen, using the modular pieces that have been drawn.

LevelPieces

For the plain walls, I didn’t want to draw one wall and just resize it to the size I wanted. I wanted to draw many lengths of wall so they had the various thickness in edges and the corners were all different from each other.

TestDraft

~ by reeceharry on December 7, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
vegetrouble.wordpress.com/

( Project Example)

subjectanomaly.wordpress.com/

The Final Major Project of Matt Lane

Reece Harrison

Year 3 Game Design HSAD Student

Sanctuary Games

David Smith - Games Designer, Gamer and Full Time Geek

Hms Hunter

From the Ashes

shevysupreme

A fine WordPress.com site

AS3 Game Tutorials

Complete Flash game tutorials in ActionScript 3

Kevin Holbrook's Blog

Student at Hull College - BA (Honours) Degree

dalehaughey

I am currently studying games design at the Hull school of art and design and this is the work i have been doing.

