Game Console Timeline

Video Game Console Timeline

For my first piece of work for the Introduction to Games Design, we had to create a Timeline; which had to represent all the games consoles from the past 40 years. To design and create the timeline, I thought I would use a piece of software that I had a decent knowledge of, Adobe Photoshop. For the task we had to work in pairs, so I designed the look and Ryan did all the research towards the timeline.

To start this piece of work, I thought I would just start with a basic rounded rectangle with a thick edge, and add some dividing lines to represent each generation.

Step 1

I thought at this moment that it looked a bit too plain so I added separate colours to each segment to make them look individual. I did this to make it easier to view each generation. Some segments are larger than others, this is because some generations had more consoles released and others had a small amount released.

Step 2

The next part that I had to do was to get the information onto the timeline. I had the research Ryan had given to me, from generation 1 to generation 8; starting with the Magnovox Odyssey in 1972 all the way to the Nintendo Wii U being released late 2012. Each line and text box was created individually, which was quite time consuming at the time. I thought I’d match the coloured line with the colour of each generation, so people would know which console was in what generation.

Step 3

In this next stage, I added an image to each console. Although this was time consuming, I thought it would be nice to see what each console actually looked like and how they have changed and developed over the past 40 years.

Step 4

Once again I thought it looked plain, so I added pictures of iconic game characters that where actually played on the consoles listed. When I added the images, they made it look really jumbled so I lowered the opacity of each one, so you can still read the text properly but still see the image behind it.

Step 5

This is what the final timeline looked like. Overall I was pleased with the outcome as it was the first time I had used Photoshop in over a year, so I had to get used to some of the features again.

Certain areas that I like are the iconic game characters that I added to the back ground, I particularly like this part because it shows what games were played on the consoles and where they started out.

If I  had the chance to change it and make it better, I would use less console images as I think it looks quite jumbled with every image just placed there, maybe I could just put images for the most well known consoles on the list to make it less jumbled. Also I would add an effect to the back ground, maybe some pixels or something along them lines, as pixels are used in all video games.

~ by reeceharry on October 6, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
vegetrouble.wordpress.com/

( Project Example)

subjectanomaly.wordpress.com/

The Final Major Project of Matt Lane

Reece Harrison

Year 3 Game Design HSAD Student

Sanctuary Games

David Smith - Games Designer, Gamer and Full Time Geek

Hms Hunter

From the Ashes

shevysupreme

A fine WordPress.com site

AS3 Game Tutorials

Complete Flash game tutorials in ActionScript 3

Kevin Holbrook's Blog

Student at Hull College - BA (Honours) Degree

dalehaughey

I am currently studying games design at the Hull school of art and design and this is the work i have been doing.

